Skip to content

Doctor Dolittle

Hugh Lofting wrote his first book in a series of letters to his children, from the trenches of the Great War.

Ten delightful books out of the many that comprise the Doctor Dolittle series; all I have been able to find in the many archives online, each one re-compiled and the illustrations restored to their rightful places.

no.1: fully titled;
Being the History of His Peculiar Life at Home and Astonishing Adventures in Foreign Parts Never Before Printed (1920)
published 1922
The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle
is a much meatier book, and aimed at a wider audience.
Published 1923
Published 1924

Doctor Dolittle searches out his friend Mudface, the ancient turtle who lives in the Secret Lake in Africa. When the Doctor learns that Mudface has been buried during an earthquake, the journey becomes an emergency rescue mission. We will finally hear Mudface’s tale of the Great Flood, and learn about his rescue of two young humans – a good deed with far-reaching consequences.

Number 11 in the series

These books are in the public domain.  They are not DRM’d. You may share them freely.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *